Onism Productions


Morvigor - De Spiegel [Tape]

  • Sale
  • Regular price £8.00
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Morvigor are preparing to release a brand new EP; titled De spiegel, the two tracks mark a new beginning for the Dutch four piece. Having released their previous album in 2017, the band has emerged from a period of metamorphosis with renewed purpose and a clear vision for their future.

Morvigor embody expressive black metal, their elongated missives are propelled forward with an energy that makes their unorthodox approach feel visceral and vital. Mixing both clean and harsh vocals, abrasive sounds and more mellow, ambient passages, the band invite us to join them on a journey that willfully wanders off the beaten track. The scope of their music veers towards the cinematic as they sweep through progressive and post-metal territory, while the embrace of blistering black metal is rarely far from sight.

Although they view their cryptic lyrics as a nonessential part of the Morvigor experience, they traverse themes of existentialism, absurdism, and philosophical thought anchored in feelings of alienation, curiosity, anxiety and wonder. Lyrics are written as a stream of consciousness by bassist Evio, with his individual experiences flowing freely through short bursts of intuitive, freeform writing. Each word sung or note played is an individual expression of an individual experience of existence.

The expansive tracks on De Spiegel spread their tendrils over a twenty minute run time, each song unfurling with confidence and a flair for experimental expression. Recorded in 2022 in the The Netherlands, the EP was then mixed by Daniel Souza and mastered by Jack Shirley; De Spiegel will be released on CD, vinyl, tape and digital formats by Onism Records and Vita Detestabilis Records.